Dear SFRA community,

The applications for the SFRA Support a New Scholar Program (SNS), for 2022-2023. Please check back in fall 2022 for information about the 2023-2024 application process.

This New Scholars Program supports scholars of outstanding promise to assist them in taking part as active members of the science fiction community.

This excellence-based grant is aimed to help fund one independent or non-tenure-track scholar for a period of two years, covering membership costs.

Please find below eligibility criteria and application forms for this year's track, Track B.


If you have any further questions please contact the SFRA Vice President, Sonja Fritzsche (

SNS Previous Recipients

2021-2022 (Track A) Lyu Guangzhao
2020-2021 (Track B) Ida Yoshinaga
2019-2020 (Track A) Beata Gubacsi
2018-2019 (Track B) Emily Cox
2017-2018 (Track A) Joy Hancock

Science Fiction Research Association is a 501(c)6 non-profit organization

Powered by Wild Apricot. Try our all-in-one platform for easy membership management