SFRA Code of Conduct

This code applies at all SFRA conferences or SFRA-related meetings. It applies not just to SFRA members, but to anyone attending an SFRA event.

This code is instilled to ensure a mutually respectful atmosphere by prohibiting harassment at all SFRA-related events. Harassment includes deliberate intimidation, stalking, following, harassing photography or unauthorized recording, sustained disruption of talks or other events, inappropriate physical contact, or unwelcome sexual attention. The SFRA draws a distinction between academic/artistic presentations and other public spaces at SFRA-related events. Although the SFRA honors freedom of expression for the purpose of thoughtful inquiry at all times, offensive comments or material related to gender, gender identity and expression, sexual orientation, disability, physical appearance, body size, race, or religion may also be considered harassment when not tactfully deployed in connection with a scheduled presentation.

If a participant engages in harassing behavior, the conference organizers may take any action they deem appropriate, including warning the offender or in extreme cases expulsion from the conference with no refund.  If you are being harassed, notice that someone else is being harassed, or have any other concerns, please contact a member of conference staff or an SFRA officer. 


Contact info for 2017 SFRA Conference

Sherryl Vint: sherryl.vint@gmail.com                

Pawel Frelik: pawel.frelik@gmail.com                

Patrick Sharp: psharp@exchange.calstatela.edu   

Nalo Hopkinson: nalo.hopkinson@ucr.edu                       

JJ Jacobson: jj.jacobson@ucr.edu             


Contact info for SFRA Officers

Keren Omry, President: k.omry.haifa@gmail.com

Gerry Canavan, Vice-President: gerrycanavan@gmail.com

David Higgins, Treasurer: dmhiggin@gmail.com

Jenni G. Halpin, Secretary: jennihalpin@gmail.com

Craig Jacobsen, Past-President: craig.jacobsen@mesacc.edu



Science Fiction Research Association is a 501(c)6 non-profit organization

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software