The Mary Kay Bray Award is given for the best review to appear in the SFRA Review in a given year.

[*The SFRA award season begins in June of the year of record; awards are bestowed during the annual conference the following year.]

Award Committee

Jessica FitzPatrick (chair)

Rich Horton

Zeeshan Siddique

 2021 Tied winners:  Virginia L. Conn, “Science Fiction Circuits of the South and East” (50.1) and “Astounding: John W. Campbell, Isaac Asimov, Robert A. Heinlein, L. Ron Hubbard, and the Golden Age of Science Fiction” (50.2-3).
 2020 Tied winners:  Erin Horáková, “Treknomics” (#327) and Rich Horton, “Gene Wolfe" (#327).
 2019 Tied winners:  Amandine Faucheux’s review of The Stone Sky (#324) and T.S. Miller’s review of The Oxford Handbook of Science Fiction (#323)
 2018  Hugh C. O'Connell, review of Jack Fennell's Irish Science Fiction(#319, Winter 2017)  
 2017 A.P. Canavan, review of Netflix's Daredevil and Jessica Jones (#315, Winter 2016) 
 2016 Amy Ransom, review of The Liverpool Companion to World Science Fiction Film (#312, Spring 2015) 
 2015 Marleen S. Barr, Paweł Frelik, and Andy Hageman, roundtable on Under the Skin (#310, Fall 2014)
 2014 Lisa Yaszek, "Narrative, Archive, Database: The Digital Humanities and Science Fiction Scholarship 101," (#303 Winter 2013)
 2013 Chris Pak, "Terraforming 101," (#302, Fall 2012)
 2012 T. S. Miller, "Review of Rise of the Planet of the Apes" (#298, Fall 2011)
 2011 Alfredo Suppia, "Southern Portable Panic: Frederico Álvarez's Ataque de Pánico!" (#292, Spring 2010)
 2010 Ritch Calvin, "Mundane SF 101," (#289, Summer 2009)
 2009 Sandor Klapcsik, review of James Patrick Kelly and John Kessel's Rewired(#284, Spring 2008)
 2008 Jason Ellis, reviews of Robert Heinlein's Starship Troopers (#280, April/May/June 2007) and of Ian McDonald's Brasyl (#281, July/August/September 2007)
 2007 Ed Carmien, review of The Space Opera Renaissance by David G. Hartwell and Kathryn Cramer (#277, July/August/September 2006)
 2006 Thomas J. Morrissey, Review of The Shores of Women by Pamela Sargent (#271, January/February/March 2005)
 2004 Bruce A. Beatie, Review of L. Frank Baum, Creator of Oz by Katharine M. Rogers (#268, April/May/June 2004)
 2003 Farah Mendlesohn, review of Kim Stanley Robinson's The Years of Rice and Salt(#257, March/April 2002)
 2002 Karen Hellekson, "Transforming the Subject: Humanity, The Body, and Posthumanism" (#251, March/April 2001)

Science Fiction Research Association is a 501(c)6 non-profit organization

Powered by Wild Apricot. Try our all-in-one platform for easy membership management